WE MUST STAY UNITED

I`m sure everyone`s heard of what happened in Brussels, Belgium today. It`s awful and my heart and thoughts go out to those who`ve lost someone or are struck by this in any possible way.

It`s always important to stand by each other with solidarity and loyalty, but today it`s even more important. Whenever something like this happens, people have a lot to say. Either about Muslims, Terrorists or the pain and loss. There`s no doubt we`ll feel sorrow when such things happen, we`ll feeel anger and frustration. There are many questions and not that many answers.

large (93)

But some people, I swear. If looks could kill. We NEED to stand together and not be scared, we need to show love, we need to be there for each other. Always. Yet, some are more busy pointing out how we in Europa don`t care about Tyrkia, Syria or Lebanon. We think Muslims are less worthy (I think those idiots forgot there are many Muslims in Europe too) and we only feel sorrow when someone of our own die. And again, the same old shit – Muslims are terrorists and “those people aren`t Muslims” and “They`ve never read the Quran”. Mind giving me a break?

First of all, how the hell do you know whether someone has read the Holy Quran or not? It`s their matter, not yours. And I`ve said this before – whom are we to decide who`s a Muslim or not? Not to mention there might be things in Islam who`re not that good – what about that? And let`s NOT FORGET the many dictatorships in Middle East, the death penalty, the stonings, the lack of human rights. No Muslim I know talk about those countries? What excuse do you have for those people down there? And why don`t you point your index finger towards those countries?

I`m damn tired of those terrorists AND those people who talk like they know everything. When I told a Muslim about what happened in Belgium, he said “They enable it all on their own.”

So Muslims start barking up the wrong trees when we, according to them, cover what happens in Turkey less, BUT they don`t talk about what they do? Many accuse us for considering the Muslims as less worthy of happiness, but what about what Muslims do? Of course not everyone`s like this, but many more than what we`re aware of, are like this. When something happens in their countries they fall on their knees, but Belgium? No, Belgium can go to hell because they want to kill their own children on their own.

I`m not here to attack someone or blame someone. I believe in conversations and dialogues, I believe in eye-contact and face-to-face communication. BUT I also want to make people aware of the hypocrites out there. I want to let people know I`m sick of what`s going on out there.

I live in Norway, I`m a Norwegian Muslim. I`m proud of my country – does that make me less of a Muslim? I`m standing with Belgium today, do you feel sorry for me because I`m not standing with Turkey today? I think some people are too busy making the whole world feeling sorry for them. I heard about what happened in Turkey, that was bloody awful too and should`ve never happened. But I`ve never been there. It`s crazy, because I just realised I`ve never been to Belgium but I`ve been at the airport, where some of the attacks and explosions took place. People were only catching the tube or the train, some were on their way to another country. There`s no difference between our worth, but there`s a huge difference between how close we are to people. I was in Pakistan during the Peshawar attacks. The closer the suffering is, the bigger is the pain. That`s only natural. That doesn`t mean I don`t feel sorry for what happened in Turkey. Stop making a fuss about ridicuolous things. I catch the train every day, I`m at the airport almost every day because of school. What happened is so surreal and Belgium isn`t far away from Norway. I doubt people in Lebanon or Syria stood together like we here in Europa are standing together today the 22nd of July, 2011. Norway was attacked  by terror that day and I doubt Asian news covered the chaos here the same way we did.

We have a long way to go, we`ve got plenty of work. But these idiots aren`t doing anything helpful and it`s about time someone tell them to shut up. We need to fight extremism and radicalization and the fighting should start as soon as possible, but right now Belgium needs love and affection. Not hatred and disgust.

Leave a Reply

