9TH APRIL 1940

This post was supposed to be posted yesterday, but time passed away quickly and 9th became 10th. 

9th april 1940.

It`s 77 years ago since Norway was attacked by the Germans. It was day which, for many Norwegians, consisted of fears, sorrows, pessimism and insecurity. Many had no idea what was coming their way. It took four years for our country to be free and independent.

Today I`m happy about being able to live in a country where I can be me, where I can be free. I`m glad I live in a time and country, where I don`t have to worry about bombs and shooting, but instead can sleep peacefully at night. I`m glad I`m living this life. I`m glad I live in a country where I have rights. I`m happy I can study and become something and perhaps most of all – I`m glad I`m able to see a future. At that time, there was a war going on in my country. Today, I can be sorry about what happened, but I can also be relieved because it belongs to the past.

I`m thankful for this life. Today I`m thinking of all these people whom lost their lives and lost people who were close to their hearts. I`m sorry that some human beings find it appropriate and necessary to kill so many. Especially the Jews barely had any rights and my heart cries every time I hear stories from the camps.

I`m sorry to say that all we can do now is to never forget and remember what happened, but I hope that`s enough.

large (61).jpg

Leave a Reply

