NOT TO BE MEAN, BUT…

About a month ago Salvador Sobral and Portugal won Eurovision Song Contest 2017. After the grand final, many people had opinions about his song, his music, his performance and him. You know mean people on the internet who just have to be rude and let everyone know what they think? Many of their comments begin with “not to be mean, but…” or “not hating, but…”. I`ve met so many internet trolls in my life. Many of them are grown-ups that troll around, believe they`re being nice and accuse everyone else for being mean. Anywho, I got so fed up by reading their comments after the final, that I`ve decided to publish some of them here and reply to them the way I want to. The comments are from Salvador Sobral`s and Eurovision`s official Instagram accounts. 


0,1

My answer: How nice isn`t it, to call someone a weirdo? 🙂

0,2_LI

My answer: How kind of you to not want him to be “sick or something” and comment something so nice. And when did wanting your sister to share the stage with you, become arrogant? The news about him needing a new heart was not true, but that doesn`t mean he wasn`t sick. There`s a reason his sister did the rehearsals.

0,3

My answer: (Not so) sorry to say this, but if Eurovision Song Contest was a hospital, don`t you think people who have cancer, cardiovascular, Ebola, AIDS, etc. would`ve joined the contest instead?0,4

Dude, do you English speak? Maybe you should go and learn some English first.

0,7_LI

My answer: Isn`t people`s health condition something private and something`s that up to people to share? Just in case you didn`t know, Salvador answered questions about his health, but else he didn`t talk about it. I bet you`re this rude, only because your favourite didn`t win. Maybe you should go and listen to Katy Perry, instead of spending your time, writing stupid comments online. 🙂

0,6

My answer: If Portugal was to bribe, don`t you think it wouldn`t have taken then 49 times to finally win?

0,8_LI (2)

My answer: I bet many of the viewers didn`t even know about his health conditions – I was one of them. 😉 It wasn`t like he said “Oh, I`m so sick, please vote for me before I die”. He already had his surgery and was happy about being able to share his music.

0,9

My answer: Yeah, it`s veryyyyy nice to say “not to be mean or anything, but he looks pretty weird and it looks like he has an ilness”. Enough said.

0,11 (2)

My answer: When did he say all the other songs are garbage? Why would he sing Belgium`s song, if he only considered it “garbage”? And why is it stupid to want your sister, who wrote the song for you, to share the stage with you? It only shows how humble he is. Learn from him. 😉

0,13_LI (2)

My answer: Some people. You guys must have had a very bad day. 🙂

0,19

My answer: Is telling people that your sister wrote the song and a little about your health condition “advertising”? Isn`t it amazing to appreciate the work someone has done, unlike you? Not everyone is as humble as him. 🙂

0,17

My answer: Okay, so he`s not “a regular guy” because he, according to you, was weird? Wasn`t Jamala a “regular woman”? What about Alexander Rybak? Dima Bilan? Can`t we just appreciate all kind of music? If it was all about politics, then I bet Portugal would`ve won several years ago. 😉 0,20

My answer: Maybe you should be jealous of the fact that he most likely wouldn`t act the same was as you did. 🙂 How kind to hate someone you haven`t even met, by the way.

0,5_LI

My answer: Hahahaha, better to be asleep than to act like an troll online.0,15

My answer: Does one become a less of an idiot by being mean online? That`s new to me, thanks to you I learned something new today! Crazy how a person who`s had a surgery, can`t participate in a music contest without being called all kind of things.

0,16

My answer: Most of the people who voted for him, didn`t even know about his illness. Dying or not – he won and there`s nothing you can do about it.

0,18

My answer: Is he arrogant because he cares about refugees and wants to give some credits to his very own sister? If people like him are arrogant, I`d rather be arrogant than someone who. 🙂

0,12

In the very end, I`d like all the internet trolls to read this. It`s nicely written, unlike many of the other comments. You don`t have to like Salvador or his song, but at least be nice towards him and everyone else.

Leave a Reply

